A hodge-podge

cold-and-flu-season

I’ve got a code, and my head feels like it’s full of wet, soggy sawdust.

I’m just starting the pack for the return trip. The nice little lady at the hotel  is doing my laundry tonight, so when I get it back it will go right into luggage. I leave St. Augustine April 16th, and Jacksonville Airport April 17th. That should put me home around 8:30 – 9:00 P.M.

There isn’t a lot of news, so I’ll content myself with posting a hodge-podge of pictures from around Augustine.

Reading from the top down, the following are left overs from the Alligator Farm. I don’t know how old these two turtles are, but judging from their size I’d say they are quite old.

alligator farm edited16

alligator farm edited17

This handsome fellow (below) is a long-tailed Lemur.

alligator farm edited35

I also came across some vintage photos of days gone by. This is a street scape taken in 1936.

1936 St. Augustine

And this is the famous Lion’s Gate Bridge that Henry Flagler had built.

lion's bridge st. augustine

Just down the road is “Fountain of Youth Park.” It is the precise spot where Ponce de Leon came ashore in search of the mythical fountain. The Natives they encountered were the  Timucuan Indians, and many were buried at  the park. Some years ago they were uncovered, but out of respect they have since been reburied.

fountain of youth burials (640x510)

Hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

