The first photos of the 2013-14 season…

Today was the first that really felt like Florida. It was overcast, but in the upper 70s, so I decided to take the camera out for a bit of a shoot.

It was just around the hotel, so there are no break through images.

The first is of the hotel. It’s old–1930s, I think– but comfortable. My room is a bit cramped for the walker, but I manage.

IMG_0325

This second shot show the entrance to Denny’s Restaurant (where I am now). It’s a bit pricey, but the portions are large and tasty.

IMG_0326

This is another shot of the hotel from another angle.

IMG_0327

This next shot is taken from the Nombre de Dios Mission across the street. The hotel in the foreground is my previous lodging, and the one in the background is the one I’m staying at now.

IMG_0329

The Nombre de Dios mission is where Pedro Menendez de Aviles first landed in 1565, and is now a park encompassing a cemetery dating from the late 1700s.  It is accessed by a bridge that spans a man-made lake. Very pretty.

IMG_0332

One of St. Augustine’s landmarks is the 209-foot, stainless steel cross commemorating Father Francisco Lopez de Mendoza, who celebrated the first mass on North American soil. The cross is 209′ high because if it was another foot higher they would have had to put lights on it.

IMG_0334

The mission borders a lagoon, very likely the one Aviles arrived in, in 1565.

IMG_0336

And finally, I will leave you with a Hibiscus blossom that I found on my rounds.

IMG_0330

I will be posting my adventures here as they unfold, so make at note of the URL and tag along.

Gerry B.

Leave a Reply

