Contrary to my last post …

It’s a lousy day in the neighbourhood.

Quite literally, I’ve had the furnace turned on more days than the A/C this year, and altogether I believe we’ve only had one or two ‘heat alerts’ (normally we have upwards of twenty), so there’s very little to rapturize about.

The Canadian National Exhibition, 1940s, showing the midway.
The Canadian National Exhibition, 1940s, showing the midway.

The Canadian Nation Exhibition (CNE) opens its 133 season today, and for most of us it marks the unofficial end to summer.

I have great childhood memories of the CNE. It was one of the two occasions we (my sister Beverley and myself) got to visit Toronto – the other was for Christmas shopping. So, off we would go on 7:00 AM Grey Coach bus scrubbed clean, and with our life-savings in pocket – possibly as much as $5.00!

But what wonders awaited two farm kids from Pefferlaw! There was a full-size image of a cow sculpted in butter, a mile-long midway, and everybody’s favourite: The Food building where they offered free samples. Mind you, we had to leave on the 8:30 PM bus for the return trip to Sutton, but we took a headfull of memories with us.

Sadly, the CNE has changed from its grass roots. My friend and travel consultant, Jacquie Dupuis, says the agricultural exhibits have all been dropped, and the radio stations are emphasizing the food (chocolate deep-fried chicken!) and rock concerts.

I`m glad I saved my memories.

logo - gerry burnie books - couple

 

Leave a Reply

