Playing ‘catch-up’ again…

Busy, busy, busy, but I never seem to catch up. It reminds me of that old limerick:

I’m busy doing nothing,

I do it oh so fine.

I’d like to be unhappy,

But I really don’t have the time.

 It’s overcast today, but warm (temps in the 70s). I’d work beside the pool, but unfortunately the glare off the screen makes it almost impossible to see. Nonetheless, I prop the door open to let the outside in.

In a short while I will wander up the hill to the Waffle House for lunch. As I have mentioned before, their food (with the exception of my beloved “Slugger”) is the tastiest for the money of any I have found in the south – a 10 oz steak, tender and beautifully seasoned, for under $10. You just can’t beat it.

The restaurant is pricey, but they do offer an array of cocktails for $1.99. Their shots a small, however, so it’s not a great bargain.

The waitresses keep changing. The one I have currently, nice girl, is a trifle ‘personal’ for my taste. She calls me “handsome” which, at my age and circumstance, is a bit of a stretch.

Last evening she asked me if I had “sweet girl” down here, to which I answered, “Good God, No!”

Which reminds me once again of that saying: ‘How dare you presume I’m straight!’ Nonetheless, in her own way, I’m sure she is just being friendly – I hope!

I did a laundry this morning – three items. To prove how lightly you can pack for six months, my entire wardrobe consists of 3 track pants; two “T” shirts (I forgot my two short-sleeve shirts), socks, and three jackets (heavy, medium and light. When I change, I just rinse out the soiled clothes for next time.

Just before I left, I made arrangements to have the garage roof replaced. The estimate was $4,425, which was fine until the governments got involved with the HST – $575! For those @#$%^! useless, incompetent @#$%^&!, it’s an outrage.

I spend most of my time trying to protect what little I have from thieves and government, and there really isn’t much difference between the two.

More next time.

Click on the logo for information on any of my novels.
Click on the logo for information on any of my novels.
Leave a Reply

