Spring is here, the grass is ris…

I wonder where the birdies is.

Actually, they here and singing all night! I have never experienced anything like it.

I;m not talking a few hoots, etc., these are full warbles – the same as you hear in the daytime. Remarkable.

In two days I will have been her four months. Incredible, isn’t it?!

I think I may stop becoming attached to people and critters. Every time I do they seem to disappear. So far I have lost my favourite housekeeper, my favourite waiter (both of whom just up and left), and now I’ve lost my cat.

A stray, black cat used to mooch tidbits outside the restaurant, and we all loved her – “Millie the Millhouse Cat” is what we called her until the animal control officials got wind of it, and now she’s gone, too.

I particularly miss my housekeeper, “Cricket”, because I’m left with the most scatter-brained blonde I have ever encountered. She’s the one with that noise-box in her pocket blasting rap crap, and doesn’t know enough to turn it off when the guest is present.

Hmm, come to think of it, the same is true of places – ‘change’, that is. I am thinking These of the Old Ramada and Sluggers in St, Augustine. Both had a rustic charm that fit like a comfortable glove. These can’t be manufactured, and are surely missed when they’re gone – except in loving memories.

More next time.

Leave a Reply

