Life on Ambergris Caye

Ambergris Caye, Belize: Temp 29C

Water taxi - No Queen Elizabeth II!
Water taxi – No Queen Elizabeth II!

I left Belize City at 9:30 AM, Thursday – not reluctantly I might add – and boarded a water taxi for Ambergris. Originally I had in mind a regular ferry boat with decks and such, but that was not the case. Rather, it was a very utilitarian-looking craft built for speed and not comfort (as my lightly padded bottom can attest.) What with the hard plastic seats, and the bucking of waves, one-hour-and-thirty-minutes took quite a toll on my derriere.

 

 

Hard plastic seats are hard on the posterior!
Hard plastic seats are hard on the posterior!
A squall blows up while we're underway. Not a big one, thank goodness.
A squall blows up while we’re underway. Not a big one, thank goodness.

 

The Conch Shell Inn

2015 11 07_0138The Inn is a modest but reasonably honest establishment: The $50-a-night I’m paying would be reasonable if the Canadian dollar wasn’t ‘Harperized’ in order to manipulate his re-election. It is clean and comfortable, and the manager (Kit) is wonderful at coming up with whatever you need. Mind you, everything in this neighbourhood is tourist-priced, so you are paying top buck everytime you purchase something (i.e. $18 BZD for breakfast, which works out to be about $12 CAD.)

However, the view is divine. I don’t compare it to any tropical scene I have seen before, because they are just pictures, but this is real: Beautiful sea-scape, interesting and charming architecture, and pastel colours everywhere. Plus, there is a constant and varied traffic passing by.

View from the Conch
View from the Conch
Actually, this is were I generally have breakfast. Palm trees and sand
Actually, this is were I generally have breakfast. Palm trees and sand

2015 11 06_0135

The temperature is also ideal. It is hot in the sun, but where I work there is a constant breeze that is better than any AC ever designed.

 

My work station on the veranda (where I am right now) :)
My work station on the veranda (where I am right now) 🙂

Which brings us around to my work station. I work on the veranda 90% of the time. Yesterday we had a bit of a tropical depression blow through, but otherwise I worked here until 12 midnight. There are no bugs that I have encountered, and Kit has set me up with a table and light, so it’s full speed ahead with the novel.

No money from the government (figures!)

No money has come through from the government – re my disability benefit – so that stupid woman who was my accountant has cost me big money on account of her divorce. Something in the vicinity of $1,000 – $1,500 (so far) I figure. Nonetheless, I intend to see this work/vacation through.

Would I live here full time? Yes. Not in a tourist area like Ambergris, but perhaps Placencia or Carosal. A $100 BZD is worth about $70 ‘Harperized’ Canadian, so prices are affordable, and as 3rd world as this country may be (in some respects) it is still more livable than Wynne’s Ontario.

More, when I get a chance to explore.

Leave a Reply

