Gerry’s Marvellous Adventure–Week II

Temperature: 25C

It’s a rainy day, but fortunately not overly windy. The odd drop blows inside, but I am still able to work outside.

roomAs I mentioned last day, The Inn is basic but clean and comfortable. I am particularly pleased that it has a refrigerator for my insulin, and that I am able to access the shower (very cautiously, mind.) Instead of a tub bathroom– which is useless to me without a transfer bench – it has a step-over ledge. Therefore, if I position the walker beside the toilet, and hang onto the taps, I can step inside.

Presently I am at breakfast. I have had to switch restaurants from the cheaper to the more expensive because I couldn’t access the toilet in the former. This one is no hell either – the seat nearly fell off of it while I was using it just now – but at least I can get at it.

roof repairThings are laid back here on Ambergris. The crew that was shingling this little roof (something that would have taken a few hours in Canada) took nearly a week to do. They are quick with a buck, though. It doesn’t matter that the U.S. dollar is worth 2 to 1 BZD because the price of everything is double as well.

By the way, the Canadian dollar is supposed to be worth about $1.50 BZD, but by the time the banks get finished taking their pound of flesh it’s worth about $1.38! The Loonie must be one of the poorest performing currencies in the world thanks to Harper and now Trudeau. Moreover, I just read the news that the stock markets are down as well. I did well saving and investing my money reasonably carefully, and now a bunch of numbskull politicians and multi-million-dollar corps are bleeding me dry.

I have been thinking of moving farther up the coast where it is cheaper – perhaps Corasal. However, it is not quite as easy as all that. It involves packing up and taking a boat, plus finding a hotel that is not asking an arm and leg in rent. So it takes some thinking.

The one thing that is consistently good is the temperature. In my experience, it very seldom varies by more than two or three degrees from 27C – even at night – so I am able to work outside until 11:00 PM, or so.

With that sort of schedule I am making good progress, and anticipate that the rewrites to Two Irish Lads will be finished on schedule for the March 17th market.

Here are some random photos I have taken.

Most of the palm trees here are coconut palms. However,. they're usually cut down before they bonk someone on the head!
Most of the palm trees here are coconut palms. However,. they’re usually cut down before they bonk someone on the head!
A Frigate Bird. I was surprised how large they are. They're like vultures - just hanging around until something dies or pops up.
A Frigate Bird. I was surprised how large they are. They’re like vultures – just hanging around until something dies or pops up.
A wondrous bird is the pelican; his beak can hold more then his belly can!
A wondrous bird is the pelican; his beak can hold more then his belly can!
Leave a Reply

