I am now a paid-up, temporary citizen, of Belize…

Well, I am now a paid-up, temporary citizen of Belize (until Sept 29th, that is.)

It was not without its challenges, however.

The dirt alleyway. Surprisingly it isn't the slums. It's more-or-less average.
The dirt alleyway. Surprisingly it isn’t the slums. It’s more-or-less average.

The first was finding the revenue centre which is up a dirt-alleyway, only to be faced with a set of STEEP stairs. Verdict: NO F’ing WAY!

There was no f'ing way that I was going to risk these stairs just to pay the government money!
There was no f’ing way that I was going to risk these stairs just to pay the government money!

Being a government revenue agency, however, I was certain they would have a way to get this done, so I sent my cab driver, Jose, upstairs to inquire.

Yes, I could send Jose upstairs with passport and money ($50 BZD) and they would stamp it. Now, Jose was from the hotel and highly recommended, so up the stairs he went and I became a temporary citizen. 🙂

fish cleaning standThe 3rd photo is of a fish-cleaning stand. The chap in the red sweater is Tony, and he and his partner (opposite) have a thriving fishing-excursion business – enhanced by their own lobster traps ($600 BZD).

When they return, they clean and cook the fish and lobsters and have a shore-lunch at Jambel’s (the patio-restaurant I frequent.)

A frigate bird.
A frigate bird.

Needless to say, with all the fish guts etc. being tossed around, the birds – frigate birds, gulls, and pelicans have a feeding frenzy (photo #4). I am amazed by the size of the frigate birds. Originally I thought they were the size of gulls, but they are much bigger.

A wondrous bird is the pelican; his beak can hold more then his belly can!
A wondrous bird is the pelican; his beak can hold more then his belly can. I don’t how in hell he can!

The 5th picture is “Herman” the pelican. He has his own perch, and woe to any gull that dares occupy it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

