Out with the old…

There is an old Irish tradition of cleaning house on the last day of the year to dispel any bad luck that might be hanging around, and while I haven’t cleaned house, I’ve had enough bad today to cover a full year.

It started this morning at breakfast. I generally use the time over breakfast to check my emails., etc., so it is really part of my work day. Except, this morning the restaurant’s wifi wasn’t working, which put me behind by about an hour for the rest of the day.

In addition, the ‘music’ – reggae crap – was turned up so loud I could hardly hear myself think.

So far, I was batting 0 for 2.

After an abbreviated check of my emails and reports, etc., I head downtown to get my lunch and dinner from the lady before she closed at 2:00.

Third strike coming up.

The side-‘walks’ are all misnamed in San Pedro. Firstly they are far and few between, and secondly they are more ‘stop-and-block-walks’ than anything else. People stand in the middle to chat, and bicycles lay halfway across them – All fine and dandy unless you’re pushing a walker around.

Well, this morning they were setting up for New Year’a Eve (yikes!), so in addition to ignorant chatters and strewn bicycles there were also stacks of tables and awning supports.

Okay, I’ve grown adept at squeezing around things and even stepping down off the sidewalk if I have to, but so are the Belizeans at coming up with new and creative ways of challenging me. So, this morning they had a deliver truck park in the middle of an intersection so that neither traffic or pedestrians could get by.

Enter the local constabulary (the “brown shirts), four of them – one to direct traffic, and the other three to watch – but did they remove the truck … NOOOO. Neither did they stop the traffic (golf carts, Mo-peds, scooters, etc which were squeezing by where the pedestrians were also walking.

I finally got by by taking my life into my own hands, and when I arrived at the Church Square there was a sound truck blasting out reggae crap loud enough to be heard in Tierra del Fuego. It was literally painful, but it seems this current generation can’t be a minute without their cell phone or ‘music.’

Will I be happy to see this old year out? Yes. Will it change anything. No.

Sigh.

Traffic Jam, Belizean style. The delivery truck parked in the intersection is PARKED. The cop in te background is directing traffic, and there are three others watching. Meanwhile, traffic is backed up for half a mile.
Traffic Jam, Belizean style. The delivery truck parked in the intersection is PARKED. The cop in te background is directing traffic, and there are three others watching. Meanwhile, traffic is backed up for half a mile.
The wind has calmed today, but in the meantime it has piled sea weed and garbage on the beach. Note the plastic bottles, etc. It makes you wonder how much other garbage out there.
The wind has calmed today, but in the meantime it has piled sea weed and garbage on the beach. Note the plastic bottles, etc. It makes you wonder how much other garbage out there.
Another shot of the garbage. I generally take this route to get to the street, but now I go the long way round.
Another shot of the garbage. I generally take this route to get to the street, but now I go the long way round.
Leave a Reply

