Why can’t surprises be good for a change?…

It’s a question I’ve asked many times before, but no answer yet.

This morning I got two surprises, neither of which made life any easier or happier. 1) My lower denture plate broke. I can wear them for appearance, but I can’t chew with them. Fortunately I can manage without them, but it changes the taste of food entirely.

2) I discovered that two of my web pages have gone missing. One is my Burnie Family Album web page which took me years to develop. I’m sure I have the files saved on disk, but I won’t be able to access these until I get home. The other is my ‘Coming of Age on the Trail’ site (my forthcoming book) which I can rebuild again.

Fortunately I was able to tap into my ‘Gerry Burnie Books’ website files, so I was able to update it with the new book. However, as usual it fought me tooth and nail, and I have yet to be able to link it to Amazon.

…And speaking of Amazon: Yesterday, I sent them a one-page letter email listing (in detail) the problems on my Two Irish Lads catalogue page, and today I received an email in which they had totally screwed it up. So, which is it: Incompetence or indifference? I don’t know, but it’s driving me to distraction!

The good news is that the weather is perfection (78F) as it always is; I’m settled at my work station on the veranda; the interest in Two Irish Lads has been encouraging; and the writing of Coming of Age on the Trail is coming along nicely.

Available for purchase or as a gift from Amazon in paperback and Kindle formats. Order yours today!
Available for purchase or as a gift from Amazon in paperback and Kindle formats. Order yours today!
Leave a Reply

