Another superb day… With music (*sigh*)

One more day up the beach. In some ways it is a better setting than downtown – more parks on the waterfront, and better scenery – but there is no escaping the omnipresent din of crap music played too loud. They seem to wait for me to arrive before they ‘crank up the tunes’.

And, of course, they always have an “RK” (‘restaurant kid’) waiting in the wings. In fact, it wouldn’t be a meal without the blare of music and some kid screaming. It’s my karma.

Tomorrow I pay my dues to immigration for the last time – although I suspect that I will have to pay again as I leave the country. Tourists are ‘good to the last drop’. Also, I make my reservations to fly from the island. I fly from here to the international airport, and the hotel is picking me up there.

Some pictures I took on a walk-around:

 

An interesting old piece of driftwood. Looks old, and quite a massive tree. I don't think it's a palm root, but it could be.
An interesting old piece of driftwood. Looks old, and quite a massive tree. I don’t think it’s a palm root, but it could be.

 

The sea wall is made from local rock, which in turn are mostly sea shells.
The sea wall is made from local rock, which in turn are mostly sea shells.

 

A coconut seedling. We pay a hefty price for coconuts in the supermarkets; here, you have to be careful they don't fall on your head.
A coconut seedling. We pay a hefty price for coconuts in the supermarkets; here, you have to be careful they don’t fall on your head.

 

There are some rare patches of grass - a coarse, bristly type - but it is mostly arid. Sand everywhere.
There are some rare patches of grass – a coarse, bristly type – but it is mostly arid. Sand everywhere.

 

I rather like this shot - nicely framed. It is of an old, abandoned warf, with mangrove trees in the foreground
I rather like this shot – nicely framed. It is of an old, abandoned warf, with mangrove trees in the foreground.

 

Here is a better shot of a small mangrove stand.
Here is a better shot of a small mangrove stand.

 

Here's an interesting building. I believe it is a hotel, but it looks as though it may have been a rustic mansion at one time.
Here’s an interesting building. I believe it is a hotel, but it looks as though it may have been a rustic mansion at one time.

 

An old, derelict scow.
An old, derelict scow.

 

Finally, I think this fellow may be in need of a tire!
Finally, I think this fellow may be in need of a tire!
Leave a Reply

