Hands up! I’ve got a fully-loaded tube of toothpaste!

04/11/206

That’s right. The security at Pearson Airport confiscated a tube of toothpaste. Just what they thought I could do with it – apart from cleaning my teeth – I don’t know.

Speaking about Pearson Airport (“Diversity Central,” as I call it), I saw every nationality and hue one could imagine – except Caucasian.

Air Canada is very good at what they do, you just have to find someone to do it. They had one person handling check-ins (except for priority), and one person handling handicapped service.

This chap had to take each party to where they were departing, and then come back for another. It took me about half-an-hour to finally get to security. That is where my toothpaste disappeared.

So far, so good. My next stop was Newark, NJ, where I was shuffled off to another airline (US Air), and unbeknownst to me, I had to go through another security – shoes off, and the whole bit.

It is now 2:25 and my connecting flight is scheduled to leave (from another terminal) at 2:50. Panic. Fortunately, the connecting flight was delayed so I was able to make it.

The question is: Why would my travel consultant, knowing that I was handicapped, book me on a flight where I not only had to change carriers, but also terminals. I mean, I paid for a `consultant’ – not a booking agent (I could have done that myself) – so why didn’t she inform me?

The likelihood is that, like most service people, they do ‘A Job’ and so long as it gets done, screw the customer. They are functionaries.

Anyway, I arrived in Jacksonville, FL, and acquired a taxi to my destination. Delightfully, both the taxi and driver were immaculate; he in a crisp white shirt, slacks, and polished shoes, and the cab was new, fully equipped, and NO CRAPPY MUSIC!

However, somehow my reservation at the hotel got screwed up, and there wasn’t a room scheduled for me; but worse, there wasn’t a refrigerator for my insulin. Finally after some shuffling they found a room with a refrigerator, but a wifi that barely connected with 2 bars.

However, the next morning everything was righted and the welcome from regulars was truly heart-warming. I even signed a couple of books that one of them had purchased.

Alls well that ends well. 🙂

Poolside at the hotel. As you can see it is quite a large property in a rural setting. The building on the left is where I am staying.
Poolside at the hotel. As you can see it is quite a large property in a rural setting. The building on the left is where I am staying.
A view of the hotel from the parking lot. Okay, the parking lot isn't  the most attractive, but it shows the extent of the property.
A view of the hotel from the parking lot. Okay, the parking lot isn’t the most attractive, but it shows the extent of the property.

 

 

Leave a Reply

