Eatin’ and a-writin’

The view I see every morning over my coffee: The inside of the Waffle House.
The view I see every morning over my coffee: The inside of the Waffle House.

My day starts at 9:00 AM, just as it does back home, and then it’s off to the Waffle House for breakfast.

Although the WH doesn’t have a good reputation with the GBLT community – something to do with the owners’ anti-gay beliefs – I like it for good, basic fare, and solid value. Plus, the staff is like family.

There are several things on the menu that I enjoy. The various melts are good – especially the Philly Steak Melt that featured shaved steak, onion, and cheese. However, my favourite and the best for value is the Hashbrown Bowel. It is a mixing-bowl full of sausage, egg, and cheese, over a bed of hashbrowns, for $8.00.

Then, it is back to the hotel to catch up on emails and whatever business has arisen. This takes me through to lunch, so it’s back to the WH for another feed.

The afternoon depends on the temperature and the weather, but I try to get outside for a bit before it is time for dinner at the steakhouse.

After that, it’s writing time.

I’m about 25% finished with Part Two of Coming of Age, so it will be done in good time for a planned release in March. Then it’s on to The Brit, Kid Cupid, and Petunia.

More next time.

The courtyard at the hotel.
The courtyard at the hotel.
Leave a Reply

