Home away from home

It’s a mild (71), overcast day, but with a cool wind. Not unusual for this time of year. It can get quite cool with temperatures in the 20s and thirties, but seldom more than a few flakes of snows. Tonight is forecast to be 49F.

As usual, the Canadian dollar is struggling at around $0.74/U.S. after Trump’s victory. It seems “up” has been expunged from the income language, but is still quite prominent in tax and expenditure vocabulary.

Naturally, this comes just 5 days before I have to put out nearly $4Gs U.S. for travel insurance, etc. I’m waiting until the last day in hopes that the CAD will gain a few cents.

I’m soon going to be forced into a shopping trip at Walmart. Since the Air Canada security confiscated by toothpaste, I have have been getting by with a tube about the size of a cigarette – which also comes with the miniature toothbrush – and a bottle of mouthwash the size of a perfume bottle.

If the government is going to be anything, it’s an inconvenient pain in the ass.

I’ve been featuring photos from the outside, so today I am including some from the inside:

This is my room. As you can see, it's quite comfortable and well maintained.
This is my room. As you can see, it’s quite comfortable and well maintained.
This is my writing corner looking out the window. With it, is the office chair I purchased two years ago, and which the staff put away for me.
This is my writing corner looking out the window. With it, is the office chair I purchased two years ago, and which the staff put away for me.

More next time.

Leave a Reply

