Brrrr…

Woke this morning to 48F degrees. However, it warmed to 71F this afternoon.

On the topic of temperatures, the maintenance guys were around today to fix my radiator so I can get some heat when I need it. The hotel is old, so things do break down. I can live without most things, but warm isn’t one of them.

Nothing particularly newsworthy. About all I do is eat, write, and sleep. I’m sure it doesn’t sound overly exciting to most people, but it suits me very well. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable, and the water is hot. What more could anyone ask for?

I have a regular server by the name of Shane – “Like the cowboy,” as he likes to say. He’s mid -twenties, quite polished, and comfortable in his own skin.

I like people like that. They are like springs that bounce back at you, rather than having to draw them out. He is also well acquainted with the menu, and we spend a good deal of time discussing the pros and cons of the various dishes. I got through about 72 of them back in 2014 – 15, so I’m looking to make it 73 this year.

That is about the extent of my socializing, except for saying hello to the staff. Theresa is my housekeeper, Kathy is the assistant manager, and Josh is my maintenance guy.

Josh is having a small get-together for Thanksgiving, so I have the honour of being invited. Otherwise, the restaurant is closed, but the Waffle House is open 365/365, including Christmas.

Time to get some writing done.

Here are the pines I was telling you about. I think  they are "lodge Pole" pines, but otherwise they are very elegant.
Here are the pines I was telling you about. I think they are “lodge Pole” pines, but otherwise they are very elegant.

 

Leave a Reply

