My, how time flies…

As of today, I have been in the south four weeks. It doesn’t seem that long, but I’m sure if I had to cope with ice and snow it would seem longer.

It is cooler today (63/43), but beautiful sunshine. Sunshine is definitely the captive of the south, for a day hardly passes without some. I have a sheltered spot on the south side of the hotel where I go to sit. It is warm and peaceful, and very good for working out plot lines.

My room faces more-or-less east, so I only get the the direct rays in the late afternoon.

Not far away is the King’s Bay Naval Submarine Base. It is a strategic base servicing the Atlantic Fleet, so there is quite a bit of activity. I haven’t seen it, personally, but I may find a reason to go in that direction before I leave.

Submarine hangars, for Ohio class submarines.
Submarine hangars, for Ohio class submarines.

 

 Sailors assigned to the guided-missile submarine USS Florida (SSGN 728) practice skills controlling the boat.
Sailors assigned to the guided-missile submarine USS Florida (SSGN 728) practice skills controlling the boat.
Leave a Reply

