It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

The way winter should be viewed ... in pictures.
The way winter should be viewed … in pictures.

Why is it that winter always arrives early, and spring arrives late?!

Back home in the north country, winter has arrived with a vengeance – snow, freezing cold, and a soupcon of freezing rain thrown in for good measure.

Here in the south, the temp is 64F today, but there is no escaping winter. My snow-removal bill for this month is $275 (including having the roof cleared, which will come this week.)

Then there’s the heating bill to come.

The good news is that I don’t have to slog through snow to get to the Waffle House.

I have coined a new phrase: “Crisis du jour.” It seems every day dawns with a new concern that has to be solved or dealt with.

For example, I have been having difficulty with the main computer that sometimes refuses to turn on. Yesterday was one such time, so I hauled out the backup, only to find that it too was acting up.

Fortunately, the main decided to co-operate by starting, so now I leave it ‘hibernation’ mode (rather than shut down.) The backup finally came around, too.

I could go on like this for paragraphs, but I will spare you the gloomy details.

It’s getting close to that time when I need a haircut. The barbershop I go to in located in the local Walmart store, and Josh (the maintenance guy) has offered me a lift, but there is no damned way I am going near a Walmart store until after the New Year.

I’m not brave enough for that!

Still no word from the publisher, so I will start pushing until I get some answers. Coming of Age represents six years of my writing life, which is bad enough, but all my other books are with this publisher as well. Therefore, if no one is printing my books, no one can buy them.

Moreover, if they do buy them, the royalties go to the publisher before they come to me, so chances are I will never see them.

It is a real mess.

More next time. Stay warm in the north.

Two Irish Lads has a great Irish Christmas scene in the wildereness.
Two Irish Lads has a great Irish Christmas scene in the wildereness.
Nor All Thy Tears is a heart warming story of love, romance, and adventure.
Nor All Thy Tears is a heart warming story of love, romance, and adventure.
Leave a Reply

